Use Remote Desktop Connection to Access another Windows PC
Microsoft's built-in tool for screen sharing is 'Remote Desktop Connection'. If everything has been set up as in 'Remote Access to your Office Computer', the steps below describe how to make the final connection. Click on the images to enlarge them.
1. Click 'Start', and begin typing 'Remote Desktop Connection', and click on the app that it finds in the results list.
2. In the 'Remote Desktop Connection' window, in the 'Computer' field, type the network name or IP address of the computer you wish to access.
a. Note to connect to an InTune PC (machine name starts with ‘AP’), a machine name is required, i.e. 'APC45AB1FB2F09'.
3. If desired, click the ‘carat' button next to ‘Show Options' to customize the display and other integration options. If connecting from an AD PC to an InTune PC, check off 'Use a web account to sign into the remote computer’ under the 'Advanced’ tab. This window also shows options for creating shortcuts to this connection, and window size and resolution options under the 'Display' tab.
When satisfied, click 'Connect'.
4. Enter the username and password that you use for the machine, and click ‘OK'. For an Active Directory PC, prefix username with AD\, and the classic Lehigh username, e.g. ‘dab406’. For an InTune PC, you’ll need to use your email address, e.g. dab406@lehigh.edu''
5. On Windows desktops, only one user can access the screen at a time. If another user is logged in when you attempt to connect, they'll see a message indicating you want to connect. If you're an administrator on the machine, you'll be asked if you want to connect anyway, and if you do, the screen in front of them will switch to the login screen. ITS recommends politeness.
6. In remote sessions on Windows, you can either 'Sign Out' or 'Disconnect' from the 'Start' menu.
'Sign Out' is available from the 'Profile' menu, and actually closes down all of your running programs and processes, and logs you off of the remote computer.
The 'Disconnect' command is available from the 'Power Button' menu, and leaves your user session logged in, and any programs you leave running continue to run after you disconnect. This allows you to re-connect later and continue working where you left off, assuming no one re-starts the computer.